Packers have long list of unrestricted free agents

GREEN BAY - The end of every Packers season also brings the end of some players' careers in Green Bay. 2014 brings a long list of Packers players into free agency.

17 players are becoming unrestricted free agents, including Ryan Pickett, B.J. Raji, Mike Neal and Johnny Jolly on the defensive front and Sam Shields among those in the secondary. Shields does not have a ligament tear and will enter the offseason relatively healthy despite getting hurt in the team's playoff loss against the 49ers Sunday.

On offense, James Jones, Matt Flynn and John Kuhn enter into unrestricted free agency, leaving the Packers with some tough offensive decisions. Jermichael Finley's contract with the Packers has also expired, amid questions of his football future.

Ted Thompson has a history of re-signing free agents and limiting signings outside the Green Bay organization.

Other Packers unrestricted free agents include Kahlil Bell, Evan Dietrich-Smith, Robert Francois, Marshall Newhouse, Andrew Quarless, James Starks, Seneca Wallace, and C.J. Wilson.

Jamari Lattimore and M.D. Jennings are restricted free agents. The Packers retain exclusive rights on safety Chris Banjo.

Share this article: