Packers Announce Ten Finalists for Fan Hall of Fame

Ten finalists have been named in the search for the 19th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame, and voting begins Sunday for fans to make the selection.

The first professional football team to have a hall of fame, the Green Bay Packers enhanced that distinction in 1998 by establishing a Packers FAN Hall of Fame. It was founded for the purpose of annually honoring a devout and longtime Packers fan.

Packers fans were asked to nominate themselves or a friend for the honor with an essay of 500 words or less, accompanied by a photo, explaining why he or she should be recognized. From those nominations, 10 finalists were selected by the Packers FAN Hall of Fame selection committee.

RELATED: "I'm Gonna Beat This"; Fan Battling Cancer one of 10 Finalists for Packers Fan Hall of Fame

This year’s 10 finalists are:

  •          John Powers – Savage, MN
  •          Rosemary Scheible – Wauwatosa, WI
  •          Kay Kuester Doran – Antigo, WI
  •          Karen Troyanek – LaCrosse, WI
  •          Carol Postulka – Pierre, SD
  •          Frank Lamping – Union Grove, WI
  •          LaNore Anderson – Thorp, WI
  •          Mike Sledz – Grayslake, IL
  •          George Oudhuis – Rolling Prairie, IN
  •          Terry Schwefel – Watertown, WI

Beginning Sunday, January 1, fans can read the finalists’ profiles and vote online by visiting or vote with a paper ballot by visiting the guest relations desk in the Lambeau Field Atrium. The winner will be selected by three different groups of people: fans and previous honoree votes (50 percent) and the Packers’ committee (50 percent).

The voting deadline is midnight, January 31. Voters will be entered into a random drawing to win Packers merchandise.

The honoree's selection will be announced in late February 2017. He or she will receive four club seats to a 2017 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2017 Packers away game, including game tickets, air fare and hotel accommodations; and a one-year subscription to Packer Plus.

The honoree also will have his or her name added to the list of FAN Hall of Fame honorees recognized in the Packers Hall of Fame.

Share this article: