$30 Wheel Tax Approved in Milwaukee County

Drivers in Milwaukee County will be paying $30 more to get around after the county board approved the amended wheel tax today.

It was proposed by Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele.

There has been lots of talk around a proposed wheel tax.

County Executive Chris Abele initially proposed $60 a year fee per vehicle.

The finance and audit committee adopted an amendment to reduce that to $30.

Those fees would be used to help fund Milwaukee County Public Transit, but the supervisors said that state lawmakers need to help.

Share this article: