Wisconsin's holiday deer hunt to be held in 17 counties

NOW: Wisconsin’s holiday deer hunt to be held in 17 counties

WISCONSIN (CBS 58) -- Hunters in Wisconsin may be spending the holiday outdoors.

Several counties throughout the state are holding an anterless-only hunt beginning on Sunday. 

Deer advisory councils in 13 farmland counties participated last year. This year, 17 are participating including Milwaukee and Waukesha counties.

“One of the interesting aspects of the holiday hunt is that it’s an annual decision of the advisory council,” DNR Regional Wildlife Biologist Jeff Pritz said. “So hunters do need to stay plugged in and non-hunters as well because on any given year that holiday hunt could come or go.”

Hunters registered more than 3,300 deer during the 2016 hunt. This year, harvest numbers are expected to rise. The hunt runs through New Year’s Day.

Share this article: