National Weather Service's New Approach to Weather Awareness

Starting this year, the National Weather Service will take a new approach to raising the public's awareness of hazardous weather threats across the U.S. The new system will move away from awareness and preparedness weeks and shift more toward a seasonal system.  It's really about improved readiness, responsiveness, and overall resilience. In addition, the thinking is weather hazards can affect people, not just week-to-week but year-round. 

Here's a sneak peek...

Winter Campaign (Beginning Dec. 1)

  1. Snow and Ice Storms
  2. Blizzards
  3. Cold Temperatures
  4. Floods

Spring Campaign (Beginning Mar. 1)

  1. Severe Weather
  2. Floods
  3. Lightning
  4. Heat
  5. Wildfires
  6. Rip Currents
  7. Tsunamis                               

Summer Campaign (Beginning Jun. 1)

  1. Hurricanes
  2. Severe Weather
  3. Heat
  4. Lightning
  5. Rip Currents & Other Beach Hazards
  6. Air Quality
  7. Wildfires

Fall Campaign (Beginning Sept. 1)

  1.  Hurricanes
  2. Wildfires
  3. Wind
  4. Drought
  5. Winter Weather   

And while the National Weather Weeks will be replaces by seasonal campaigns, the week of May 24-30 will still be recognized as National Hurricane Preparedness Week since hurricanes have a defined season. 


Share this article: