Josh Hader named National League Reliever of the Year

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) -- Milwaukee Brewers reliever Josh Hader has been named the Trevor Hoffman National League Reliever of the Year Award. Edwin Díaz of the Seattle Mariners has earned the 2018 Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year Award

In his second Major League season, Hader led all Major League relievers with 143 strikeouts – the most in history by a left-handed reliever and tied for eighth all-time by all relievers – in just 81.1 innings pitched (36 H, 30 BB, 0.81 WHIP). He averaged 15.82 strikeouts per nine innings pitched.

The Maryland native posted a 6-1 record, a 2.43 ERA and 12 saves in his 55 games. He held opposing batters to a .132 batting average (36-for-272). The 143 strikeouts by the first-time All-Star in 2018 set a club record for a reliever. He made 23 appearances of at least two innings, with the Brewers going 23-0 in those games. Only six of the 23 runners he inherited upon entering games scored.

Hader played a key role in Milwaukee’s first National League Central title since 2011 and the Club’s exciting run through Game Seven of the NLCS, including their Division Series sweep of the Colorado Rockies.

He was acquired by Milwaukee as a part of the July 2015 trade that sent Mike Fiers and Carlos Gómez to the Houston Astros.

Balloting for the Rivera and Hoffman Awards, which debuted in the 2014 season, was conducted among a panel of seven all-time great relievers in order to determine the recipients. Rivera and Hoffman, both of whom spent their entire careers in the same League en route to the top of the all-time saves list, were joined as voters by two Hall of Fame relief pitchers – Dennis Eckersley and Rollie Fingers – as well as John Franco, Lee Smith and Billy Wagner. The seven voters ranked the top three AL relief pitchers and the top three NL relief pitchers based solely on regular season performance, using a 5-3-1 weighted point system.

Share this article:
Sign up for the Sports Newsletter