Governor Walker Declares a State of Emergency in Eight Northern WI Counties for Flooding

Madison – Governor Scott Walker declared a State of Emergency in eight Wisconsin counties today in response to flooding in northern Wisconsin. Heavy rains caused flash flooding, power outages, and damage to the region’s roads and bridges. The counties included in the governor’s declaration are Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Sawyer, and Washburn.

“Heavy rainstorms overnight caused widespread damage across the Northwest,” Governor Walker said. “I express my thanks and appreciation to all of the first responders and officials in the area who are working hard to manage the situation. I am instructing the Wisconsin National Guard and all state agencies to aide those affected by the storms.”

Governor Walker is joining Wisconsin’s Adjutant General Major General Donald Dunbar, and Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Brian Satula this evening to speak with local residents and survey the damage.

The State of Wisconsin Emergency Operations Center was activated early this morning. State officials are working to assist counties in their response and recovery efforts.

Important Information for Local Residents:

Numerous roads and highways are damaged and closed. State and county engineers are evaluating bridges and roads. Below are the major road closures:

Ashland County: U.S. Highway 2 at Sum Road, U.S. Highway 2 at Denomie Creek, WIS 13 at Silver Creek and Trout Brook, and WIS 169 at Bad River and Tyler Forks

Bayfield County: WIS 137 at Whipperfurth Road, and U.S Highway 63 at Twentymile Creek and U.S. Highway 63 in Bibon Swamp

Iron County: WIS 122 at U.S Highway 2 and Parker Creek, WIS 169 at Vaughn Creek and U.S. Highway 2

Washburn County: Portions of WIS 77 

Share this article: