Froedtert Named 5th Best Teaching Hospital in Nation

An annual study measuring the performance of major academic medical centers across the nation ranks Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital 5th among 102 participating organizations.

The ranking is published in the newly released University HealthSystem Consortium’s (UHC) 2015 Quality and Accountability Study, which assesses performance in quality and safety across a broad spectrum of patient care activities.  The study criteria reflect the national Institute of Medicine’s six domains of care: safety, timeliness, effectiveness, efficiency, equity and patient-centeredness.

 “Quality is at the core of who we are and drives what we do,” said Froedtert Hospital President Cathy Buck.  “Our solid ranking among these top academic medical centers is a testament to the staff and physicians across our organization who strive for excellence every day.”

The 10 top-performing academic medical centers that earned the UHC’s 2015 Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Award are:

  1. NYU Langone Medical Center, New York
  2. Rush University Medical Center, Chicago
  3. Mayo Clinic Hospital – Rochester, MN
  4. Emory University Hospital, Atlanta
  5. Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital
  6. University of Colorado Hospital (UCHealth)
  7. University of Utah Health Care
  8. Houston Methodist Hospital
  9. The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  10. Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center

UHC is an alliance of the nation's leading nonprofit academic medical centers, which are focused on delivering world-class patient care. Formed in 1984 and based in Chicago, UHC fosters collaboration with and among its 117 academic medical centers and 329 affiliated hospital members in the areas of performance improvement, comparative data and analytics, supply chain management, strategic research, and public policy.

The Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin regional health network is a partnership between Froedtert Health and the Medical College of Wisconsin. It comprises eastern Wisconsin’s only academic medical center, Froedtert Hospital, Milwaukee; and Community Memorial Hospital, Menomonee Falls, and St. Joseph’s Hospital, West Bend.

The health network also includes more than 2,000 physicians across 25 primary and specialty clinical locations representing the collaboration of Wisconsin’s largest multispecialty physician practice with a community-based physician group.

The network’s three hospitals have 784 staffed beds, nearly 40,000 annual admissions and more than 930,000 annual outpatient visits. Froedtert & MCW network physicians have more than 750,000 annual patient visits at its health centers and clinics.

Share this article: