Badgers RB Clement on Doak Walker Award watch list

MADISON - Corey Clement finds himself in a position familiar to Wisconsin running backs, landing a spot on the preseason watch list for the Doak Walker Award.

Clement is featured on the watch list for the second-consecutive season. He is one of nine Big Ten players to be listed among the Doak Walker Award’s preseason candidates, which were released Thursday by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum.

Wisconsin enjoys a proud history with the Doak Walker Award, as the Badgers are the only program to have three running backs claim the honor: Ron Dayne (1999), Montee Ball (2012) and Melvin Gordon (2014).

Texas, with two-time recipient Ricky Williams (1997, 98) and Cedric Benson (2004), is the only other program that has claimed three Doak Walker trophies.

This season marks the 27th in which the Doak Walker Award will be presented to the nation's top running back. Wisconsin running backs have been named finalists for the award in five of the past six seasons, with John Clay (2010), Ball (2011, 12) and Gordon (2013, 14) earning those distinctions.

Share this article: