U.S. Supreme Court rejects same-sex marriage appeals in five states

MILWAUKEE -- The Supreme Court rejected requests Monday from five states, including Wisconsin, to review state bans on same-sex marriage.

This means that the decision of the lower courts will stick for now and immediately ends the delay for same-sex couples to get married in Utah, Indiana, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, and Virginia. 

Monday afternoon in Madison, Governor Scott Walker said Wisconsin's battle over same-sex marriage is over. He said, \"We'll fully follow the law as defined by the Federal Court of Appeals. As I've said all along, that I would support the Constitution of the State of Wisconsin until the Federal government told us that the U.S. Constitution trumped that. And It's clear by the Supreme Court's decision not to bring up the case that they are deferring to the U.S. Court of Appeals' decision. That decision is clear and that's what we will follow here in the State of Wisconsin.\"

Look for extensive coverage on this late breaking news throughout the day on our website and on the CBS 58 News at Noon, 5 p.m and 10 p.m.


Share this article: