Three Brewers advance to "The Starters Election"

MILWAUKEE – The results of “The Primary” voting period are in! Three members of the Crew have advanced to “The Starters Election” – the second round of voting for the 2019 Major League Baseball All-Star Game, which will take place on Tuesday, July 9 at Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio.

Catcher Yasmani Grandal, second baseman Mike Moustakas and outfielder Christian Yelich each have the opportunity to start in this year’s Midsummer Classic, and they’re counting on your support in the final days of the Vote Brewers! campaign.

Grandal will compete with Willson Contreras of the Chicago Cubs and Brian McCann of the Atlanta Braves for the chance to start behind the plate in Cleveland, while Moustakas will compete with Ozzie Albies of the Braves and Ketel Marte of the Arizona Diamondbacks for the starting spot at second base.

Yelich will compete among a group of nine outfielders that includes Cody Bellinger and Joc Pederson of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Ronald Acuña Jr. and Nick Markakis of the Atlanta Braves, Charlie Blackmon of the Colorado Rockies and Albert Almora Jr., Jason Heyward and Kyle Schwarber of the Chicago Cubs for the chance to start in the All-Star Game. The top three vote-getters will earn spots in the starting lineup, with the alignment of the outfielders to be determined by Dave Roberts, the manager of the National League All-Star team.

“The Starters Election” begins at 11 a.m. CT on Wednesday, June 26, with fans voting among the finalists at each position during a 28-hour window that concludes at 3 p.m. CT on Thursday, June 27. During this second phase of voting, fans can vote once each at and by searching “MLB Vote” on Google.

Vote totals will reset during this period (votes from “The Primary” will not carry over) and the winners at each position (including three outfielders per league) will be named starters for the 2019 All-Star Game. Results of “The Starters Election” will be announced on ESPN at 6 p.m. CT on June 27.

The pitchers and reserves for both squads – totaling 24 for the National League and 23 for the American League – will be determined through a combination of “Player Ballot” choices and selections made by the Commissioner’s Office. The balance of the All-Star rosters will be announced on ESPN at 4:30 p.m. CT on Sunday, June 30.

Share this article:
Sign up for the Sports Newsletter