Packers Name Ten Finalists for Fan Hall of Fame

Ten finalists have been named in the search for the 18th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame, and voting begins Friday for fans to make the selection.

The first professional football team to have a hall of fame, the Green Bay Packers enhanced that distinction in 1998 by establishing a Packers FAN Hall of Fame. It was founded for the purpose of annually honoring a devout and longtime Packers fan.

Packers fans were asked to nominate themselves or a friend for the honor with an essay of 500 words or less, accompanied by a photo, explaining why he or she should be recognized. From those nominations, 10 finalists were selected by the Packers FAN Hall of Fame selection committee.

This year’s 10 finalists are:

  •          Chris Bierman – Cedarburg, Wis.
  •          Matt Lutsey – De Pere, Wis.
  •          Larry Schimmel – Pinckney, Mich.
  •          Julie Franseen – Franksville, Wis.
  •          Sara Wisniewski – Milwaukee, Wis.
  •          Karen Brannen – Hawaii
  •          Ryan Murray – Whitehouse Station, N.J.
  •          Michael Steinmetz – Hannover, Germany
  •          Patricia Nevala – Menomonie, Wis.
  •          John Holt – Tacoma, Wash.

The voting process will take place entirely online. Beginning Friday, January 1, fans can read the finalists’ profiles and vote online by visiting The nominee receiving the most votes will be named the 18th member of the Packers FAN Hall of Fame.

The voting deadline is midnight, January 30. Voters will be entered into a random drawing to win Packers merchandise.

The honoree’s selection will be announced in spring 2016 at a press conference at Lambeau Field. He or she will receive four club seats to a 2016 Packers home game; a $500 Packers Pro Shop gift certificate; a road trip for two to a 2016 Packers away game, including game tickets, air fare and hotel accommodations; and a one-year subscription to Packers Plus.

The honoree also will have his or her name permanently displayed in a place of honor in the Packers Hall of Fame.

Share this article: