County clerks ready to issue same-sex marriage licenses

Milwaukee County has been issuing same-sex marriage licenses from the start. It was doing so during the initial ruling in June. Washington County issued one license so far, and Racine County issued one license. Ozaukee, Walworth, Kenosha, and Waukesha Counties are prepared to issue licenses but haven't yet since Monday's ruling. One county clerk we spoke with says she thinks people will take their time applying for marriage licenses since there's no questions about the law now. In June, many rushed to local courthouses to apply and get married. Now couples can take their time.

Share this article: