'All remaining businesses' in suburban Milwaukee County municipalities allowed to reopen May 22

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) -- Suburban health departments in Milwaukee County announced Tuesday that they are moving to the next phase of reopening plans, as Order #1 issued on May 14 is set to expire on Thursday, May 21 at 11:59 p.m. 

This next phase, according to a press release, allows all remaining businesses in the 18 suburban municipalities to open if they choose to. Those that choose to open will utilize the "Suburban Milwaukee County Safe Opening Capacity Guidance" chart that will be available on local health department websites.

Businesses are also instructed to adhere to CDC and Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation's safe business practices and physical distancing and protective measures for staff and patrons.

In preparation for the next phase of reopening beginning on Friday, May 22, local health departments say they're communicating with businesses throughout their communities to share best practices and guidance about how they can reopen and operate safely.

Many businesses will likely change the way they operate to provide physical distancing between patrons, increased attention to sanitation, and more changes designed to minimize the transmission of COVID-19.

Businesses should contact their local health department with any questions regarding this next phase of reopening.

Share this article: