$7.7M awarded to revitalize Wisconsin's bus infrastructure, US Department of Transportation announces

WASHINGTON (CBS 58) -- U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao announced Tuesday, Aug. 11, the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) will award $7.7 million in transit infrastructure funding to improve the safety and reliability of Wisconsin’s bus systems and enhance mobility for transit riders.

"This Administration is committed to rebuilding our nation’s transportation infrastructure even through the current COVID-19 crisis, and this $464 million in federal grants will help improve the safety and reliability of transit bus service nationwide as the economy returns,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao.

According to a news release, the funding supports projects to replace, rehabilitate, and purchase buses and related equipment, as well as projects to purchase, rehabilitate, and construct bus-related facilities.

"Millions of Americans rely on public transportation to access healthcare, jobs, and other vital services,” said FTA Deputy Administrator K. Jane Williams. “During this unprecedented time, we need to ensure access and mobility for the riders who depend on our nation’s bus systems.”

Two projects in Wisconsin will receive a total of $7.7 million from FTA’s Grants for Buses and Bus Facilities Program.

  • The City of Madison will receive $4.7 million to purchase new 60-foot articulated buses and upgrade a maintenance facility to accommodate the larger buses. This project will reduce overcrowding on Metro Transit's high demand bus routes, and improve transit service and reliability for residents of Madison and the surrounding communities.

  • Milwaukee County will receive $3 million to replace an aging roof that is 35 years old and has exceeded its useful life at the Milwaukee County Transit System Fleet Maintenance Facility. The new roof will improve maintenance activities and ensure a state of good repair so the transit system can continue to provide safe and reliable transit service for residents throughout Milwaukee County.

Share this article: