Tip Line: 414-777-5808 | newsdesk@cbs58.com

Gomez breaks Brewers record Gold Glove drought

MILWAUKEE - Carlos Gomez has been chosen as the National League's Gold Glove Award winner in center field, marking the Brewers first Gold Glove winner in more than 30 years.

Gomez made five home-run robbing catches this season, and added 12 assists in one of the finest defensive seasons in franchise history.

The Brewers have won 10 Gold Gloves in their history, but none since Robin Yount was chosen as the American League's Gold Glove shortstop in 1982, the same year the Brewers last went to the World Series.

The 31 year drought between Gold Glove winners was the longest such streak in the history of the award.

Share this article:
Save with
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?


Post a comment
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?