Giannis Antetokounmpo wins 2nd consecutive MVP award; 'I'm extremely blessed'

Updated: 5:15 p.m. on Sept. 18, 2020 

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) -- Twice in a row, Giannis Antetokounmpo has won NBA's biggest individual honor: Most Valuable Player. 

That hasn't happened for a Milwaukee player since Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played in Milwaukee almost 50 years ago. 

After being named MVP Friday, Sept. 18, he sent another message: “Don’t call me MVP until I’m a champion.”

Let’s hope that Giannis' streak of speaking things into fruition won’t stop here. The Bucks superstar raked in the league's highest honor, beating out LeBron James and James Harden.

Antetokounmpo seemed humbled by the nod but it’s a mixed bag of emotions. While the awards are staking up there is still one thing the Greek Freak is without, a championship.

“I would love to still be in the bubble keep playing games and get an opportunity to play in the finals," Antetokounmpo said. "But at the end of the day, the award is the award and I’m extremely blessed from where I came from from where I started and where I am right now. It’s been a long journey and the people that know me and the people that know my story you can never take these moments for granted.”

The Bucks were sent home in the second round of this year's playoffs. Giannis wasted no time hoping a flight to Athens, Greece. He said Friday it was a privilege to accept the award in the city where his love of basketball started.


Updated: 1:10 p.m. on September 18, 2020

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) -- Giannis Antetokounmpo has been named the 2019-20 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player.

It marks his second consecutive Most Valuable Player award.

According to a press release from the Milwaukee Bucks, Antetokounmpo is the third player in NBA history to win MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in the same season. He is the 12th player to win back-to-back MVP awards.

Bucks General Manager Jon Horst released the following statement:

"We are extremely grateful to witness Giannis earn the NBA’s Most Valuable Player award for the second consecutive season and send congratulations to him and his family," said Horst. "Giannis is an elite player and this historic achievement is a testament to his superior work ethic, character and determination to improve every day. He is a special player and an even better person, which makes it that much more gratifying that he is again recognized as our league’s MVP."

This is the fifth time the Bucks have had a player win MVP in franchise history. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won the award for the 1970-71, 1971-72 and 1973-74 seasons.


Posted: 9:53 a.m. on September 18, 2020

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) -- Giannis Antetokounmpo has won his second consecutive Most Valuable Player award, according to ESPN.

ESPN NBA Insider Adrian Wojnarowski wrote the news on Twitter on Friday, September 18.

This is a developing story, stay with CBS 58 on-air and online for updates.

Share this article:
Sign up for the Sports Newsletter