Congress gets paid, but who's keeping their paycheck?


by Chris Patterson

WASHINGTON (CNN) -- While more than 800,000 federal workers, including some congressional staffers, are being furloughed during the government shutdown, members of Congress are still getting paid, as required by law.

But some members of the House and Senate--the very bodies that failed to prevent the shutdown--are giving away their salary in solidarity.
CNN reached out to all 533 current members of Congress about their paycheck plans.
As of Thursday at 12:15 p.m., the tally showed 31 senators are donating to charity or the Treasury Department, while four are not accepting a paycheck and two are undecided.
Two senators, Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma and Chris Murphy, D-Connecticut, told CNN they plan to keep their salary.
On CNN's Crossfire, Coburn said that he plans to keep his salary and "spend it and tithe it and give to it charities and do the things that I've always done."
In the House, 45 representatives say they're donating to charity or the Treasury, while 54 are not accepting a paycheck and one is undecided.
Four House members, however, say they're keeping their salary-- Rep. Danny Davis, D-Illinois; Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Indiana; Rep. William 'Lacy' Clay, Jr., D-Missouri; Rep. Howard Coble, R-North Carolina.
See the list, which will continue to be updated throughout the day:
Senate (donate):
Jeff Sessions, R-Alabama
Barbara Boxer, D-California
Dianne Feinstein, D-California
Mark Udall, D-Colorado
Michael Bennet, D-Colorado
Chris Coons, D-Delaware
Tom Carper, D-Delaware
Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii
Jim Risch, R-Idaho
Mike Crapo, R-Idaho
Joe Donnelly, D-Indiana
Mary Landrieu, D-Louisiana
Susan Collins, R-Maine
Elizabeth Warren, D-Massachusetts
Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan
Claire McCaskill, D-Missouri
Amy Klobuchar, D-Minnesota
Jeanne Shaheen, D-New Hampshire
Kelly Ayotte, R-New Hampshire
Tom Udall, D-New Mexico
Heidi Heitkamp, D-North Dakota
John Hoeven, R-North Dakota
Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio
Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island
Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina
Bob Corker, R-Tennessee
Lamar Alexander, R- Tennessee
Orrin Hatch, R-Utah
Mike Lee, R-Utah
Mark Warner, Virginia
Michael Enzi, R-Wyoming
Senate (not accepting):
Angus King, I-Maine
Chuck Schumer, D-New York
Patrick Toomey, R-Pennsylvania
Jack Reed, D-Rhode Island
Ted Cruz, R-Texas
Bernie Sander, I-Vermont
Tim Kaine, D-Virginia
Ron Johnson, R-Wisconsin
Senate (keeping):
Chris Murphy, D-Connecticut
Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma
Senate (undecided):
Jeff Flake, R-Arizona
Roger Wicker, R-Mississippi
House (donate):
Ron Barber, R-Arizona
John Garamendi, D-California
David Valadao, R-California
Julia Brownley, D-California
Darrell Issa, R-California
Scott Peters, D-California
Rosa L. DeLauro, D-Connecticut
Jim Himes, D-Connecticut
Elizabeth Esty, D- Connecticut
John Carney, D-Delaware
Phil Gingrey, R-Georgia
Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii
Bill Foster, D-Illinois
William Enyart, D-Illinois
John A. Yarmuth, D-Kentucky
Andy Barr, R-Kentucky
Chellie Pingree, D-Maine
John Delaney, D-Maryland
Timothy J. Walz, D-Minnesota
Ann Wagner, R-Maryland
Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-New Mexico
Chris Collins, R-New York
David Price, D-North Carolina
Robert Pittenger, R-North Carolina
Steve Chabot, R-Ohio
Brad Westrup, R-Ohio
Bill Johnson, R-Ohio
David Joyce, R-Ohio
Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon
David Cicilline, D-Rhode Island
Diane Black, R-Tennessee
Bill Flores, R-Texas
Joaquin Castro, D-Texas
Pete Gallego, D-Texas
Filemon Vela, D-Texas
Robert J. Wittman, R-Virginia
Scott Rigell, R-Virginia
Suzan DelBene, D-Washington
Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Washington
Derek Kilmer, D- Washington
Shelley Moore Capito, R-West Virginia
Paul Ryan, R-Wisconsin
Thomas Petri, R-Wisconsin
Reid Ribble, R-Wisconsin
House (keeping):
Danny K. Davis, D-Illinois
Todd Rokita, R-Indiana
William "Lacy" Clay Jr., D-Missouri
Howard Coble, R-North Carolina
House (not accepting):
Mike Rogers, R-Alabama
Spencer Bachus, R-Alabama
Don Young, R-Alaska
Ami Bera, D-California
Eric Swalwell, D-California
Jim Costa, D-California
Ed Royce, R-California
Steve Southerland, R-Florida
Ron DeSantis, R-Florida
Gus Bilrakis, R-Florida
Trey Radel, R-Florida
Jack Kingston, R-Georgia
Austin Scott, R-Georgia
Paul Broun, R-Georgia
John Barrow, D-Georgia
David Scott, D- Georgia
Tom Graves, R-Georgia
Raul Labrador, R-Idaho
Mike Simpson, R-Idaho
Randy Hultgren, R-Illinois
Cheri Bustos, D-Illinois
Marlin Stutzman, R-Indiana
Larry Bucshon, R-Indiana
Lynn Jenkins, R-Kansas
Dutch Ruppersberger, D-Maryland
Niki Tsongas, D-Massachusetts
John Tierney, D-Massachusetts
Gregg Harper, R-Mississippi
Jason Smith, R-Missouri
Steve Daines, R-Montana
Frank LoBiondo, R-New Jersey
Leonard Lance, R-New Jersey
Sean Patrick Maloney, D-New York
Tom Reed, R-New York
Virginia Foxx, R-North Carolina
Mark Meadows, R-North Carolina
Jim Bridenstine, R-Oklahoma
Mike Kelly, R-Pennsylvania
Keith Rothfus, R-Pennsylvania
Allyson Schwartz, D-Pennsylvania
Stephen Fincher, D-Tennessee
Ralph M. Hall, R-Texas
Randy Weber, R-Texas
Beto O'Rourke, D-Texas
Randy Neugebauer, R-Texas
Lamar Smith, R-Texas
Blake Farenthold, R-Texas
Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah
Jim Matheson, D-Utah
Randy Forbes, R-Virginia
Bob Goodlatte, R-Virginia
Eric Cantor, R-Virginia
Doc Hastings, R-Washington
Ron Kind, D-Wisconsin
House (undecided):
John Campbell, R-California