Cell phone ban for new drivers goes into effect Thursday

Tools

by Laura Matovina

WISCONSIN -- Some road rules involving cell phones are changing in Wisconsin this week.

Starting Thursday, new drivers will not be allowed to talk on the phone while sitting behind the wheel.

The law applies to drivers with a probationary license, a permit or new to the state with fewer than 3 years driving experience.

Drivers will be facing fines of $20-$100 in some cases.

Currently 32 states and the District of Columbia have similar bans in place.

Poll

Which of these new Wisconsin State Fair snacks are you going to try?

  • BBQ Chicken Cone
  • Deep Fried Maple Bacon Cookie Dough
  • Reeses Funnel Cake
  • Deep Fried Racine Kringel